Nicholas Shea announced as the winner of the 2020 Lakatos Award

nick shea book cover lakatos award

The Faculty congratulates Professor Nicholas Shea on winning the 2020 Lakatos Award for his book Representation in Cognitive Science (OUP, 2018). Nicholas Shea is a Professor of Philosophy at the Institute of Philosophy, University of London, and Associate Member of the University of Oxford Philosophy Faculty. He is the Principal Investigator for the ERC Project on Metacognition of Concepts. 


The Lakatos Award is for 'an outstanding contribution to philosophy of science in the form of a book published in English in the last five years', and is awarded in memory of former LSE professor, Imre Lakatos. LSE’s announcement and comments from the award selectors can be viewed on the LSE website


Representation in Cognitive Science is a free, open-access publication from Oxford University Press. A PDF version can be accessed here.