Conference in Honor of Derek Parfit


The Faculty of Philosophy, with support from All Souls College and Corpus Christi College, will be hosting a major academic conference in honour of Derek Parfit.

The conference will bring together many of Parfit’s friends, colleagues, and students. Their presentations aim to make progress on issues that Derek believed matter most. Speakers will include Elizabeth Ashford, Ralf Bader, Simon Beard, John Broome, Tim Campbell, Ruth Chang, Roger Crisp, Jimmy Goodrich, Nils Holtug, Brad Hooker, Frances Kamm, Rahul Kumar, Kasper Lippert-Rasmussen, William MacAskill, Andreas Mogensen, Michael Otsuka, Ingmar Persson, Theron Pummer, Wlodek Rabinowicz, Janet Radcliffe-Richards, Melinda Roberts, Julian Savulescu, Teru Thomas, and Patrick Tomlin.

In addition to the talks, there will be many opportunities for informal discussion, including over tea and lunch. As the list of speakers makes evident, the conference will squeeze a great many talks into three days. It is therefore worth saying that those who attend should not feel obliged to attend every session.

The conference will be held at the Gulbenkian Lecture Theatre in the St Cross Building on St Cross Road. It is free and open to all, but advance registration is required, and registering as soon as possible is highly recommended. We have already had many people register, and it is possible that we will need to limit attendance for lack of space. Please register here

The organisers would be delighted to see many members of the Faculty attend the conference, and so encourage you to register as soon as possible. Please also feel free to invite colleagues and friends at Oxford and other universities to register as well. This will be a special event, a fitting tribute to one of the twentieth century’s greatest philosophers and a towering figure in the history of Oxford philosophy.

◄ Back to Digest