The joint courses containing philosophy are the following:

Selection Criteria:
Criteria of Admission for PPE
Criteria of Admission for Philosophy in other joint degree courses
Criteria of Admission For the Mathematical Sciences Admissions Group

The philosophical subjects included in the final examinations of the above courses are the following (all are available in all courses unless otherwise stated):

  • Early Modern Philosophy
  • Knowledge and reality
  • Ethics
  • Philosophy of mind
  • Philosophy of science and social science
  • Philosophy of religion
  • Philosophy of logic and language
  • Aesthetics and the philosophy of criticism
  • Medieval philosophy
  • The philosophy of Kant
  • Post-Kantian philosophy
  • Plato, Republic (in translation)
  • Aristotle, Nicomachean Ethics (in translation)
  • Frege, Russell and Wittgenstein (soon to be withdrawn)
  • The later philosophy of Wittgenstein
  • Intermediate philosophy of physics
  • Advanced philosophy of physics (Physics and Philosophy only)
  • Philosophy of Mathematics
  • Philosophy of Science
  • Philosophy of Cognitive Science
  • Philosophical Logic
  • Plato, Theaetetus and Sophist (Classics only)
  • Aristotle, Physics (Classics only)
  • Sextus Empiricus, Outlines of Pyrrhonism (Classics only)
  • Latin Philosophy (Classics only)
  • Special subjects, as from time to time specified
  • Thesis

Some of the above subjects are compulsory in one or other of the courses containing Philosophy. In addition, each joint course has some philosophy subject or subjects as part of its First Public Examination, normally taken in the first year.