Post-Kantian European Philosophy Seminar

The Post-Kantian European Philosophy Seminar (PKEPS) is a seminar series devoted to the study and discussion of Post-Kantian European Philosophy, welcoming speakers from within Oxford and elsewhere to present work in a workshop format. Colleagues and graduate students with an interest in this tradition are very welcome to take part.

Seminars ordinarily take place on Tuesdays, even weeks of term only, 5.00-7.00pm in the Ryle Room at the Radcliffe Humanities Building, Woodstock Rd. 

Post-Kantian European Philosophy Seminar Convenors: Dr Joseph Schear, Dr Manuel Dries, and Prof Mark Wrathall

Please write to one of the convenors or to if you would like to be added to the mailing list. 

Past Terms

Week 2 (1st May)

No Seminar 


Week 4  (15th May)

Mark Alznauer (Northwestern)

"Hegel on Aesthetic Reconciliation"
Week 6 (29th May) Alix Cohen (Edinburgh) "Kant on the nature of emotions"

Week 8 (12th June)

Andreja Novakovic (UC Riverside)

"Hegel on Passion in History"

Week 2 (23rd January)

Matthew Burch (Essex) 

"Varieties of Failed Action: A Heideggerian Approach" 

Week 4  (6th February)

Filippo Casati (Kyoto)

"Heidegger and the contradiction of Being"

Week 6 (20th February)

Casey Doyle (St Hilda's College) 

"Self-Consciousness in Judgment" 

Week 8 (6th March) 

Christopher Yeomans (Purdue) 

"Temporal Strata of Historical Experience

Adrian Moore (Oxford)
Stephen Houlgate (Warwick)
Marcin Moskalewicz (Oxford)
Stephen Mulhall (New College)
Michael Forster (Chicago)
Laura Macor (Oxford)
Jacob Burda (Oxford)
Miguel de Beistegui (Warwick)
Alessandra Tanesini (Cardiff) 
Paul Franks (Yale), 
Andrew Bowie (Royal Holloway) 
Catherine Audard (LSE) 
Brian Leiter (Chicago)
Angela Breitenbach (Cambridge)
Christina Howells (Oxford) 
Joerg Schaub (Essex)
Eva Buddeberg (Frankfurt)
Christian Skirke (Amsterdam)
Peter Poellner (Warwick)
Peter Kail (Oxford)
Hanneke Grootenboer (Oxford)
Steven DeLay (Oxford)
Alison Denham (Oxford)
Beatrice Han-Pile (Essex)
Wayne Martin (Essex) 
Sasha Mudd (Southampton) 
Michael Rosen (Kennedy School of Government, Harvard) 
Mark Wrathall (UC Riverside: Fowler-Hamilton Fellow, Christ Church) 
Axel Honneth (Frankfurt/Columbia)
Paul Katsafanas (Boston)
Katerina Deligiorgi (Sussex)
Robert Watt (Oxford)
Sacha Golob (KCL)
De Lea Ypi (LSE)
Irene McMullin (Essex)
Katherine Withy (Georgetown)
Lucy Allais (Sussex) 
Komarine Romdenh-Romluc (Nottingham) 
Dennis McManus (Southampton) 
Sabina Lovibond (Oxford) Lambert Wiesing (Germany) 
Elizabeth Cykowski (Oxford)
Francesco Maiolo (Utrecht) 
Cristina Crichton (Oxford) 
Fabian Freyenhagen (Essex)
David Egan (Oxford)
Roxana Baiasu (Oxford)
Dean Moyar (Johns Hopkins University)
Thomas Land (Cambridge)
Christopher Janaway (Southampton)
Lorna Finlayson (Cambridge)
Andrew Huddleston (Oxford)
Michael Thompson (Pittsburgh)
Robert Pippin (Chicago)
Nicholas Bunnin (Oxford)
Jason Gaiger (Oxford)
Manuel Dries (Oxford)
Severin Schroeder (Reading)
Sebastian Gardner (UCL) 
Pamela Anderson (Oxford) 
Mark Wrathall (UC Riverside) 
Simon Glendinning (LSE) 
George Pattison (Oxford) 
Katherine Morris (Oxford) 
Robert Stern (Sheffield) 
Edward Kanterian (Kent) 
Michael Inwood (Oxford) 
Wayne Martin (Essex) 
Stephen Mulhall (Oxford) 
Ken Gemes (Birkbeck) 
Raymond Geuss (Cambridge)

Anna Wehofsits (LMU Munich)

Richard Gipps (Oxford)

Gonzalo Rodriguez-Pereyra (Oxford)

Brian O'Connor (Dublin) 

List of site pages